2014 Babe Post

This is the year I have been waiting and planning for most of my adult life. Beginning in middle school I had a timeline in my mind of where I wanted to be at each stage and age of my life. So far, things have worked out exactly to plan, almost too perfectly! By age 17 I had graduated high school. Age 22, graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree. Age 23, I married the man of my dreams. And this year, as I turn 26 we are planning to start expanding our family from two of us, to more….

I thought about keeping a journal of our experience planning for a family, and then I thought, why not just share it with our friends and family who has expressed how excited they are for us, and is dying to know all the details as well? So here is post one of our story.

Yesterday, I had my IUD removed and was extremely nervous. I made the mistake of reading online forums and saw so many horror stories about extreme pain and cramping for a week! So I went in like a nervous wreck, and the doctor removed it within 30 seconds. No pain. Phew! Just some mild cramping a minute after which went away within 5 minutes. (This was my doctors first time removing an IUD too! She was supervised by another doctor, but that just made me even more of a wreck leading up to the removal!) She finished my physical with my annual pap smear and HPV testing. Other than continuing to pop my prenatal vitamins here’s her advice to be as baby ready as possible:

Eat yogurt, and a lot of it. Helps with healthy uterus and vagina, clears any possible infections and reduces bacteria growth.

Drink tons of fluids, you can never be too hydrated.

Stop eating any fish or seafood. Even fish like salmon which is known to have lower levels of mercury, is still a risk not worth taking in her opinion.

Lower caffeine intake, and reduce alcohol to zero if possible.

This one I thought for sure was a myth, but she set me straight: after sex, place a pillow under my behind and lay at an incline for 3 hours!! After 3 hours is up, wash thoroughly below the belt to avoid any infections since I won’t be using the bathroom immediately after.

If I want to get my body down to a science, she recommended buying a fertility thermometer and record my basal temperatures in order to recognize when I’m ovulating. And at that time, have as much sex as possible.

While all this was a bit overwhelming, it doesn’t sound too difficult. Since the Mr. is deployed, I have 3 months to get my cycle back to normal (haven’t had a period since January 2012!) and stock up on all the nutrients I need in order to be a fertile baby making machine. My new years resolution is also to eat and live a more balance lifestyle. The focus is on eating cleaner, less processed, and more natural. So far, I’m loving it, and it’s been a lifestyle change, not a diet. Much easier to keep up than going cold turkey.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, advice, and questions as this journey begins. I’ll be adding new posts as changes occurs. I just cannot believe I’m finally at this stage in my life where I have a happy marriage and we are both ready to grow our family. Here’s to 2014!

XOXO, MT

4 thoughts on “2014 Babe Post

  1. Well, I’m excited for you and the Mr. as well! πŸ™‚ I will be praying for you. Do you have a list of the dirty dozen of fruits/veggies that you should eat organic always? I always buy my lettuce, apples, spinach, celery, carrots, and bell peppers organic. Also, I’ve been reading and thinking about how much of the stuff–beauty products we use have things in them that I don’t think we should be putting on our bodies. I’m trying to avoid parabens (check labels of your shampoos, lotions, etc..)–read that they sampled breast tumors and they had higher levels of parabens (which don’t normally occur in our bodies). I’ve been using a combo of coconut oil and something called The Naked Bee for my body and face lotion.
    I’d recommend reading parenting books now, but frankly, I haven’t found ones that I really like, except for maybe, the Love & Logic ones. But, parenting is not one size fits all and each kid is different. And, there are NO guarantees! I think we all have tendencies to parent a certain way–maybe the way we were raised, or our personality bent, or to do the total opposite of the way we were raised because we hated it. It is a journey, and one that is easier to travel with the counsel of those who have gone before (not the ones with perfect children), and friends that are going through it with you and can be a support, both emotionally and spiritually. Parenting has taken me to my wits end, humbled, humiliated, but also given great joy all at the same time–I’ve learned so much about myself in the process–the good, the bad and the ugly. And, I guarantee that any parent will look back (if they can see and accept) and see all the failures and mistakes they made–but, also hopefully, give themselves the grace to know they did their best at the time. Not only is a parent on a journey, but their kids are also. One thing a friend told me when I was so exhausted and overwhelmed with one of my children, was that God chose to this child for us and chose us to be their parents. No matter how messy the journey gets, there is a plan.
    Well, all that is a little far out for now. Excited for this next phase of your life!
    Love, Kelly πŸ™‚

  2. I’m soo excited for you two!!! Y’all will be the best parents ever.πŸ’“ I’m looking forward to the baby bump days and hearing first hand how it is haha. Love you and am praying for both of you☺️
    Love,
    The Picards

  3. Forgot to mention: A good way to get the benefits of fish, is to take a fish oil supplement. I’ve been taking 1 teaspoon daily of Barlean’s Fresh Catch Fish Oil. It is ultra-purified and has a nice orange flavor. It says on the bottle “Purity guaranteed…free of mercury, lead, PCBs and other contaminants.” You do have to refrigerate. It is spendy–I get it at Super Supplements–but at only 1 teaspoon a day, it lasts for awhile.

    Here’s the link for the dirty dozen and also one you can eat without buying organic: http://www.ewg.org/foodnews/summary.php

    I also try to eat and buy organic or meats that are more “natural”. I buy “Painted Hills” beef. And, stay away from shrimp/seafood from Asia–I just don’t trust anything from China. Shrimp especially from Thailand/Vietnam/China have been raised to feed on horrible things like chicken poop. πŸ˜› If I buy shrimp, I buy it wild (and not from China).

    Bon apetit! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

