Last minute getaway….

This past weekend was my husbands birthday and up until Wednesday we had no idea what to do with our three day weekend. Thanks to Travelzoo, I stumbled upon a deal at Base Camp Hotels in South Lake Tahoe. AND they accommodate dogs, score! The hotel has a great welcoming and laid back vibe. The decor is a mix of modern-rustic-industrial-camping-snow-chic that I absolutely loved and made it that much easier to get into a vacation mind set. Even better? They focus on being environmentally friendly and use reclaimed wood and energy efficient heaters. They have family rooms that sleep up to eight with really fun bunk beds too! One more thing, okay two, our deal came with wine and smores each night… I mean come on!

Here’s my thoughts on our last minute escape to Lake Tahoe in early November:

-It’s already cold, so dress for 30 degree nights! Layers are your best friend.

-For a great brew and brunch hit up The Keys Cafe. I had a Carmello latte and the sweet potato sandwich with minestrone soup. Definitely a local hidden gem! Dog friendly too, they had water bowls and treats available for pups outside.

-If you’re up for a quick jaunt and great views, I highly recommend hiking Pyramid Peak. It’s a 15 minute drive from South Lake Tahoe, and a piece of cake for us. Cali loved being off leash and while the trail was a bit hard to find at some spots, we eventually meandered back on it just by following the river towards the waterfall at the end of the hike. Less than 1.5 miles and not too steep. It took us about 2 hours with lots of stops to take in the views, and time for Cali to enjoy playing in the water.

-Okay guys, here is where I have to restrain myself because as my husband will gladly tell you, Base Camp Pizza is the best we’ve EVER had. We split a large half BBQ chicken, half Thai chicken pizza. After fully indulging and stuffing ourselves we only had 2 pieces left. The cheese, the sauce, oh my! Like so good… We meant to grab another pizza on our way out of town and forgot because we left before lunch. I’m counting down until I get my hands on some more this winter.

This weekend was a successful getaway and it felt delightfully long. I hope we can take more trips like this before the year is over.

XOXO, MT

Leave a Reply

